Well, Hello there, Tree!

The garden is loving all the rain! All of the cucumber and green bean seeds have sprouted and things are really filling in. Even the trees. Sometimes, I feel like they are closing in on us…

Tree 1

Tree 2

Tree 5

Tree 6

The above picture is out our bedroom window. Good morning, Tree!

Tree 7

Tree 3

Tree 4

Thankfully, no one was hurt. I was the only one home at the time and might have had a slight heart attack when I got up to see what was going on after I heard rustling and crackling; nothing major.

There is a significant woodpile underneath the base of this tree that we think kept it from hitting the house any harder than it did. We are due for more rain in the next few days, so I hope it holds up. Needless to say, I don’t want to sleep upstairs right now. Truth be told, I considered going to sleep at my folks’ house last night, but I’m not chicken hawk.

The Insurance company is saying about 3 business days. We are saying not a snowball’s chance in hell. They need to get someone out here today. This is downright unsafe.

On a lighter note, I’ve been wondering how we are going to clear out a bigger spot for the chickens next year. The phrase “Be careful what you wish for” comes to mind about now.

There’s never a dull moment on the Rasmussen Homestead! I wouldn’t have it any other way! Well, maybe without the tree problem.

Leave a Reply

