Everything’s Coming Our Way

I’ve had this song stuck in my head for most of the morning. It’s one of my favorites by Santana and one I grew up listening to at top volume with my parents. Music has always been a huge part of my life. Like air, it is something I cannot live without. Despite the fact that it is storming outside, I can see sunshine. Everything really IS coming our way. The garden is thriving; we are thriving; our family is thriving. Our fourth grandchild (sweet baby Justin Jameson) was born in April and our fifth grandchild (sweet baby Josie Gloria) is due to arrive in September. We are blessed.

Grampy gifted us granddaughters (me, Kristen, and Chrissie) with raspberry bushes that he dug up from his neighbor’s yard. They look a little rough, but I’m hoping with a little extra love they will thrive like the others. Words cannot express how much it would mean to me to have a little patch of home right in my front yard. At this time of year especially, I get extremely homesick. I crave the sights and smells of Amberg (except the wood ticks). I yearn to slow down and spend time with family. I long to hear the Menominee River roaring in the distance as the dam opens. Having these plants here makes missing home a little easier.

No matter your circumstances, remember you can always find something to be grateful for. You might have to look a little harder, but you will find it. Some days it’s the simple fact that you woke up above the dirt. Just remember the old saying, “This, too, shall pass.” It will. I can promise you. As this song says, “Brand new day, fresh new way to live. The morning is calling. Walk with me into the sun.”

Leave a Reply

